Top Books of February

February has been a crazy month for me on all fronts! I’ve been ramping up work in my Masters and I’ve also been trying to improve my blog and bookstagram presence. I also really wanted to make a dent in my eARC pile … but that hasn’t gone as well as I wanted. However, I did read some fantastic books and I wanted to take the time to highlight some of the awesome reads!

Top Books:                      

28449207

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor 

This was hands-down an absolutely wonderful read. There is no better book to describe the genre of fantasy than this one. If you haven’t already read my previous post where I gushed about it, well, I really had no complaints about this one. I loved the characters, as they were just so unique and vividly portrayed; they literally leaped off the page! The story was also extremely interesting, with great-building. If you are an avid lover of fantasy, then this is not a book you want to miss! It may be long, but it is well worth the effort!

 

9781492656623_c92e3

Furyborn by Claire Legrand

This was an eARC that I received from Edelweiss and Sourcebooks Fire (publisher) and I am so glad I got the chance to read it! It’s got 2 badass female protagonists (you know that’s my weakness) and tons of action to keep any reader interested! Also, I really liked the romance in this novel; it made sense and wasn’t too dramatic (and this is high praise from me!). This is the first in a series, and I’m excited to see where the story is going to go from here.

 

33918881The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco 

This eARC (thanks Edelweiss and Sourcebooks Fire) has been super high on my TBR list because I absolutely adored The Bone Witch (first book in the series); this book was different in terms of its focus because it was plot-driven rather than detail-oriented but it still delivered on intrigue and I devoured it in one day!

 

 

32920226Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward 

Unlike the other novels I’ve mentioned above, this is a very sobering story that uses magical realism to explore the themes of grief and slavery. Through alternating narratives from a mother and her son, we read about how memories can haunt people. This was a vivid and haunting story that kept me up all night. It is a very thought-provoking story and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys literary fiction.

 

 

34913737The King of Bones and Ashes by J.D. Horn 

This was a slower paced supernatural novel that I really enjoyed. This ARC was by an author who is known for his stories about witches but this was my first time reading anything by him. With tons of characters and a plot that intensified with every chapter, fans of supernatural fiction would really enjoy this book!

 

 

28096541The Nowhere Girls by Amy Reed 

This novel packs all the punches as it tackles the issues of consent, rape, sexual assault, and stigma – and these are just a few of the topics! It was powerfully charged and I was amazed at the way the author managed to weave a story while handling such explosive content. This is a novel I would like everyone to read because it is just so relevant for our society.

 

 

35390279 The Night Child by Anna Quinn

This was a novel that was unexpectedly dark but very good. It deals with a very serious topic: child abuse. It was an emotionally evocative story and I found myself really connecting with the characters in the story. This is a short read but it does justice to the issues it addresses. If you can handle the content, then this is a very good psychological novel.

 

 

These were the novels that really stuck out in my mind from this month! I wish I had been able to read more books and meet all of my reading goals, but I’m glad I took the time to get to these gems!

How did your February book haul go? What were your most memorable books of the month? Comment and let me know! 

12 thoughts on “Top Books of February

  1. My coblogger from my other blog keeps hounding me about Strange the Dreamer but I keep seeing the acronym thanks to another blogger… 😅 I don’t know, I might look past that error and give it a try.

    Not sure what my favorite book this month would be since I didn’t exactly finish a book rather than considering to not finish it. 😪

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hahahaha that’s why I don’t use acronyms! But this is a really good book and so worth reading!

      Well, if there’s any book you would recommend, I would be happy to add it to my TBR list!

      Like

  2. Aaah I read The Nowhere Girls last November and loved it! It was my first Review and Discussion too. I’ve had Furyborn and Strange the Dreamer has been on my TBR list for a while. I’ve just not got round to it. The Heart Forger sounds interesting…but I’ve not read The Bone Witch so I should probably go have a look and see what it sounds like. Great post!

    I think my favourite read from February would have to be It Ends With Us, my review and discussion for that goes up this Saturday in case you’re interested about the book. It was an amazing read.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Nowhere Girls would be an awesome book to discuss! You definitely have to read The Bone Witch before The Heart Forger, but I know many people didn’t like how slow The Bone Witch was… you can check out my blog review of it if you like!

      Can’t wait to read your review of It Ends With Us!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment