Top Books of March

March has been a very stressful month for me so I wasn’t able to get as many books read as I wanted. I’m actually 5 or 6 books behind on my Goodreads yearly goal/challenge because of this. I know I said this last month, but I’m going to strive to read more eARCs for April! And hopefully, this time I will achieve this goal!

You may notice that many of the books I’m mentioning are eARCs from previous months; I’m playing a game of catch-up, which means April will mostly be filled with ARCs from March. But anyways….. these are the notable books I read from this month!

Top Books:

25365530

Good Me, Bad Me by Ali Land 

I went into this book intrigued with the idea of a girl having a serial killer for a mother (I know, I have a twisted mind). While this story is more of a character study about Milly than a thriller, I found myself engrossed in this story as she struggles to separate her identity from her mother’s and deals with bullying in her new school environment. I loved the choppy writing style as it worked so well with this type of story. Definitely a winner for me and I gave it 4 stars.

 

35533431The Broken Girls by Simone St. James

I can’t get over how amazing this book is. It has such an amazing gothic vibe to it, with its ghostly apparition and the haunting of secrets from the past. The story is split into the past and present, and while I enjoyed the past entries more, it was still a great read. This book got 5/5 stars from me!

 

 

 

27366528Beneath the Sugar Sky by Seanan Mcguire 

I love everything that this author has written as part of her Wayward Children series, and this book was no exception. It’s a beautiful adventure about a group of kids who decide to help out a newcomer. There is so much diversity in this book and the way the author captures real-life issues is amazing. I love the whimsical nature of this entire series, with its point of lightheartedness and darkness. If you haven’t checked out this series, please do so because it is so worth reading!

 

30356956Ignite by Tracy Lawson

This book is part of a teen fiction series called Resistance and I discovered it when the author reached out to me and asked me to review audiobook version of her novels. This was my first experience with audiobooks and it has made me a fan of this format! I really really liked this novel and I don’t say that often about teen dystopian fiction! It has very believable action and strong characters. The stakes are high in this 3rd book in the series and it does not shy away from violence and brutality. If you are looking for a new dystopian fiction story to read, check this one out! I gave it 4/5 stars!

37832809The Favourite Sister by Jessica Knoll

This book took me by surprise because I didn’t think I would like it as much as I did. It is a drama that becomes addicting quite fast. This was a cleverly-written book; everything the author does is for a reason, even if that reason isn’t clear right in the beginning. This may not be a fast-paced novel, but it ramps up a lot of tension and the action is great near the end. It’s worth the slow push in the start, and I gave this a 4/5 stars!

 

36861079Coyotes Volume 1 by Sean Lewis, Caitlin Yarsky

I don’t read many graphic novels but I’ve been trying to reach out into this area more. This is a short read that contains issues 1-4 and I recommend reading it all in one go. The story is intriguing and leaves the story open to go in any direction. This isn’t my favourite graphic novel of all time, but it was pretty good and I’m excited to read more in this series!

 

 

So there you have it! These were the books that I rated either 4 or 5 stars for the month of March! I can’t wait to see what new reads April will bring!

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Top Books of March

Leave a comment